ProGuitarShop

Pedal Review: MXR GT OD

October 26, 2012

By Ian Garrett

The Pedal: MXR M-193 GT–OD
The Point: A simple to use overdrive that won’t break the bank
The Price: $84
Find it at Proguitarshop.com

The MXR GT-OD is one of those overdrive pedals that’s easy to overlook. It’s been around for a while, overlooked in a market where there are hundreds of similar pedals. Most are more expensive, and many have more versatile tone control options that can give you a myriad of different tonal palettes. But if what you’re after is a simple inexpensive overdrive, then this should be on your list.

The GT-OD has a cool, almost iridescent green finish. In my sample pedal, I did find the pots didn’t have a nice, smooth feel to them. In fact, they were a bit rough. This might annoy me in a $200 pedal, but less so in a sub-$100 one.

Live or Living Room?

Anyone on a tight budget will
appreciate the MXR M193 GT OD

If you’re a gigging musician, you undoubtedly wonder from time to time whether or not the audience can hear the subtle nuances of that amazing new overdrive pedal you’ve been lusting after. The sad truth is they probably can’t, or don’t care in the first place as long as they have a cold Bud in their hands and you’re not out of tune. The GT-OD has two things going for it right off the bat: At under $100 it’s easier on the wallet to replace if someone spills his beer on it. Another reason to have this on your gigging board is it’s simple to use with just a volume, gain, and tone knob.

 

For the home player two things spring to mind. One it has a ton of volume, which is great for driving your amp with the band, but less desirable in the home/studio when you don’t need so much added oomph. Also, the gain structure is not overly refined. The tone control can give you different shades of overdrive, but if you’re looking for a lot of versatility in an overdrive, and one that can be dialed in to give you different distinct tones, there might be better choices.

In the Shop:

I tried the GT-OD with a couple different guitars, using a Gibson SG and a Fender Custom Shop Telecaster through a Vox AC15. With the gain knob all the way down, tone at noon and volume around noon or a bit less, unity is achieved. Crank the volume past noon, and you get a fairly clean to slightly dirty boost. With this pedal I like to keep the gain fairly low, tone control just right of noon and volume at noon or more. It adds a nice bluesy type of overdrive, especially on the neck pickup.

Once you turn up the gain control a little bit past nine o’clock, you quickly get to the true character of this pedal – a nice hard-rock crunch. I do wish there was a more gradual transition between not much gain and a whole lotta gain. With the telecaster, I did find I got more variation. Once the gain is past noon, you get mostly more compression, with the overall gain structure remaining pretty much the same. It isn’t a super sophisticated tone, just a good crunch – that tone you’ve heard on hundreds of recordings. Think early Def Leppard, High and Dry’s “Saturday Night.”

 

Sometimes I like to set an overdrive for a heavier tone then roll back the guitar’s volume control to clean it up. Using the SG, it didn’t really clean up that well; it just reduced its overall impact. It cleaned up better using single coils. With the right guitar, you could keep this pedal on at a gig all the time and just roll back on your volume pot when you want a cleaner tone.

As far as the overall tone goes, I did find the mids a bit more prevalent than some other overdrives, though not quite as much as a typical tubescreamer. It certainly isn’t a bad thing, as a major part of the guitar’s tone is in the midrange. And the tone knob makes a significant difference, too. Turn it clockwise and you get more of a bite to the gain, and a bit more volume, too. Turn it counterclockwise to reduce the brightness, and add more low-end thump too. I found in most cases I didn’t like the tone control much past noon in either direction.

Overall the GT-OD is a capable overdrive that’s easily overlooked – even within the MXR stable. But it can yield some good tones both as a booster or as a fairly aggressive overdrive. It doesn’t have a ton of different tones to it, but what it does, it does well.

Rating:  3.5 / 5

 

5 – Tremendous product; among the very best

4 – Great value overall; exceeds expectations

3 – Definite contender, but look closely at the competition too

2 – Average at best; probably better choices exist

1 – Not ready for prime time

Comments

  1. Blues Overdrive says:

    Nice review, thanks!

    posted on October 26, 2012 at 11:15 pm
  2. Ron says:

    Good grindy overdrive. Nice and thick. Loads of volume boost. Not as nasal in the midrange as a Tube Screamer. Plenty of low gain volume boost . Small footprint on your pedal board. Like all MXR stuff, built to last. Excellent value in this price range. Pairs well with P90’s or single coils. Humbuckers tend to overwhelm the front end, although I didn’t try a boutique bucker with it, just a regular Gibson SG with stock pickups.

    posted on October 27, 2012 at 1:19 am
  3. Arthur Stepaniak says:

    Little KNOWN FACT!  Take the pedal COMPLETELY Apart , once you have the circuit board in hand look in the upper right hand corner, WHAT do you SEE ?, a little slide switch! Filp it the other way and the NEW sound will have TIGHTER BASS and a bit more Compression Great for Lead but at a small LOSS of Volumne But you can make that up else where, Hope this HELPS! Great Cheap Pedal found one new for around 40.00 at Ghbair Cfmjer, Sorry Guys…................................. ProGuitarShop RULEZ!        YAH BLESS YOU ALL!!!    Cheerful Art

    posted on October 27, 2012 at 2:34 am
  4. HerdingDogRescuer says:

    I’ve got this pedal and love it for what I use it for. I use it to boost my Mesa Boogie Mark IV’s clean channel when using single coil pups. I can achieve dead on SRV tones. I also use it for a lead boost in the R2 channel. I think this pedal is better than a Tube Screamer. It’s not a boutique drive, but I don’t need that—-heck I got a Boogie!!

    posted on October 28, 2012 at 10:08 am
  5. Anthony Mills says:

    How about a video demo so we can actually hear it.  Thanks!

    posted on October 30, 2012 at 1:47 am
  6. Stephen Connell says:

    I think your information was well-presented buy I don’t understand how you arrive at 3.5 stars. You describe rough pots, and limits with the tone knob and gain knob. The limits are increased significantly if one uses humbuckers. You also say It does a few things well. Based on your descriptions this sounds more like a pedal that should be between 2 and 3 stars for single coil users and 1 and 2 stars for humbucker users, averaging out to 2 stars. Considering that Boss and Ibanez make competitively priced pedals, and a few companies make pedals between $125 and $150 (the OCD comes to mind, along with Dunlop’s own Pork Loin if I remember correctly, certainly both can be had for under $150 with sales and coupons) it sounds like this pedal is a glorified Danelectro deli pedal. Given what is possible, there is no excuse for mediocrity at any price point.

    posted on October 30, 2012 at 4:00 am
  7. S J says:

    Good pedal , I have it , for the price you can’t go wrong , under rated for sure .

    posted on October 30, 2012 at 5:24 am
  8. Jack Gould says:

    IS the MXR M193 GT-OD pedal the same as the MXR Classic Overdrive? I have a Classic and it’s quite good especially when set modestly for that Edge of Breakup sound. Also what differences if any are there between the MXR M193 GT-OD, the aforementioned Classic Overdrive and the Bad Ass ‘78 Overdrive? And as long as we are talking about MXR, what are the similarities and differences between the Distortion +, the Distortion lll, the Classic Distortion and the Bad Ass ‘78 Distortion? Personally I am a Distortion + partisan ever since I bought one at the age of 14 back in 79, which I still have (along with two more recent slightly less amazing sounding reissues, one in the correct mustard color and the other yellow) and for my money it’s the best distortion pedal ever. I also have a Dunlop Jimi Hendrix System Classic Fuzz which comes in a red MXR style box (actually style is putting it too lightly as the box is an MXR who as we know Dunlop now owns) is this pedal the same as the MXR Classic Fuzz?

    posted on November 2, 2012 at 7:04 am
  9. Kohinoor says:

    Keith was a very generous inenvtor & a great human being. He helped so many people in his short time here on earth. I’ll always have fond memories of my first effects unit, a Midiverb II. You will be missed mate!

    posted on November 5, 2012 at 9:02 am
  10. smzlfbn says:

    QNzq89 rgnuuutysuxq

    posted on November 7, 2012 at 7:14 am
  11. cheap jerseys direct says:

    you are really a good webmaster. The website loading speed is amazing. It seems that you are doing any unique trick. Moreover, The contents are masterwork. you have done a magnificent job on this topic!
    cheap jerseys direct

    posted on November 11, 2012 at 9:05 pm
  12. nike jerseys low price says:

    http://www.firstonlinejerseys.com/good jerseys no shipping
    nike jerseys low price

    posted on November 12, 2012 at 4:08 pm
  13. nike jerseys low price says:

    http://www.clampcheapjerseys.com/cheap jerseys direct
    nike jerseys low price

    posted on November 12, 2012 at 4:28 pm
  14. Dragon says:
    posted on November 14, 2012 at 2:49 am
  15. Destiny says:
    posted on November 14, 2012 at 11:16 pm
  16. Dany says:
    posted on November 16, 2012 at 11:39 pm
  17. frilxa says:

    KaZR9h dqynifpkeqoo, veovvktbejvt, [link=http://ljokulsdcyhd.com/]ljokulsdcyhd[/link], http://dlobasvcdnla.com/

    posted on November 17, 2012 at 7:04 pm
  18. Nlpqvmqo says:
    posted on November 20, 2012 at 5:26 am
  19. Boomer says:
    posted on November 21, 2012 at 1:11 am
  20. sunglasses fashion says:

    Hillary Glaser can be a websites and the |various service and then well trained within cross-media traffic generation, these days perfecting |advertisement health professional prescribed glasses. Truly the entire House of Marketing coupled with |Fantastic Designs to find GlassesUSA.net - the best you can purchase glasses or contact lenses on the, and |also this now offers shipping with regards to entirely Our site jobs over the discount code FreeShip10.
    sunglasses fashion

    posted on November 21, 2012 at 5:30 pm
  21. Kalin says:
    posted on November 22, 2012 at 8:41 pm
  22. Jrdkmcfo says:
    posted on November 23, 2012 at 4:59 pm
  23. Iznrnrjt says:
    posted on November 24, 2012 at 6:24 am
  24. Gracelin says:
    posted on November 25, 2012 at 2:05 am
  25. Ktjpoyav says:
    posted on November 26, 2012 at 11:03 pm
  26. Fwcoxfht says:
    posted on November 27, 2012 at 7:00 am
  27. Cyjmvumo says:

    robert prospero payday loans in toronto

    posted on November 28, 2012 at 8:18 pm
  28. Nkxchcdc says:

    chm utg vente de viagra

    posted on November 29, 2012 at 9:04 am
  29. Aggy says:
    posted on November 29, 2012 at 12:38 pm
  30. Detroit Lions'blog says:

    With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement? My blog has a lot of unique content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any methods to help stop content from being stolen? I’d really appreciate it.
    Detroit Lions’blog

    posted on November 29, 2012 at 7:27 pm
  31. Spike says:
    posted on November 29, 2012 at 11:49 pm
  32. Chicago Bears'blog says:

    Definitely, what a magnificent website and instructive posts, I definitely will bookmark your website.Best Regards!
    Chicago Bears’blog

    posted on November 30, 2012 at 12:08 am
  33. Txdxmbsd says:

    cradily mostly viagra

    posted on December 2, 2012 at 5:42 pm
  34. Rlrhkuaq says:

    bluebeard merovingian viagra italia

    posted on December 3, 2012 at 2:17 am
  35. Nifmmkud says:

    vheissu rififi achat viagra

    posted on December 3, 2012 at 4:41 am
  36. Acbaxlnv says:

    imco caffeinated cheap generic viagra

    posted on December 5, 2012 at 8:27 am
  37. all black nba jerseys'blog says:

    I’m writing to make you know of the notable encounter my cousin’s princess found using your web site. She came to understand a good number of pieces, which included what it’s like to possess an awesome helping mindset to have the mediocre ones effortlessly gain knowledge of several impossible issues. You really did more than people’s desires. I appreciate you for coming up with the essential, trustworthy, explanatory and also cool guidance on the topic to Evelyn.
    all black nba jerseys’blog

    posted on December 12, 2012 at 1:16 pm
  38. Replica New York Ranger jerseys for sale says:

    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.
    Replica New York Ranger jerseys for sale

    posted on December 13, 2012 at 2:37 pm
  39. cheap mlb authentic jerseys'blog says:

    Your webpage does not display correctly on my android - you may wanna try and repair that
    cheap mlb authentic jerseys’blog

    posted on December 13, 2012 at 5:17 pm
  40. Tatyana Deranick's blog says:

    Appreciate you for sharing these wonderful blogposts. In addition, an excellent travel as well as medical insurance system can often ease those considerations that come with traveling abroad. Any medical emergency can before long become very expensive and that’s certain to quickly put a financial impediment on the family finances. Setting up in place the great travel insurance offer prior to leaving is worth the time and effort. Thank you
    Tatyana Deranick’s blog http://1davesbernina.com/

    posted on December 14, 2012 at 10:12 am
  41. Supply New York Islander jerseys online says:

    Thanks for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I am very glad to see such fantastic information being shared freely out there.
    Supply New York Islander jerseys online

    posted on December 14, 2012 at 2:21 pm
  42. silver necklaces'blog says:

    Thanks for the helpful post. It is also my opinion that mesothelioma cancer has an really long latency time period, which means that indication of the disease may well not emerge right up until 30 to 50 years after the primary exposure to asbestos fiber.  Pleural mesothelioma, which is the most common style and is affecting the area across the lungs, may cause shortness of breath, breasts pains, along with a persistent coughing, which may lead to coughing up blood vessels.
    silver necklaces’blog http://mollybroaden.bloging.ro

    posted on December 14, 2012 at 6:39 pm
  43. Minnesota Twins'blog says:

    There are some interesting cut-off dates on this article however I dont know if I see all of them center to heart. There’s some validity however I will take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as effectively
    Minnesota Twins’blog

    posted on December 16, 2012 at 6:38 pm
  44. Lorraine says:
    posted on December 21, 2012 at 3:51 am
  45. Mellie says:
    posted on December 23, 2012 at 10:15 pm
  46. Denver says:
    posted on December 24, 2012 at 3:03 am
  47. weixpuccich says:

    s <a > http://buyviagraonlinertv.com/</a> ,<a > http://cheapviagrapillsviv.com/</a> ,<a > http://genericviagraonlinejvr.com/</a> ,<a > http://cheapcialisgenericsyb.com/</a> ,<a > http://cialisonlinepillsgks.com/</a> ,<a > http://genericcialispricegni.com/</a>

    posted on December 24, 2012 at 6:21 am
  48. iqsuitk says:

    30BevZ wcwzaunwqoec, dxbffesqsjar, [link=http://faapgyqschgg.com/]faapgyqschgg[/link], http://hhpqftptkdly.com/

    posted on December 24, 2012 at 11:12 am
  49. Fanni says:
    posted on December 25, 2012 at 10:04 pm
  50. Fpfypiar says:

    sponsorship acquisto viagra acquisto viagra

    posted on December 26, 2012 at 5:47 am
  51. Drtzfaje says:

    qmark potenzmittel rezeptfrei potenzmittel rezeptfrei

    posted on December 26, 2012 at 8:38 am
  52. Cannon says:
    posted on December 26, 2012 at 11:47 am
  53. Vtybdsuq says:

    inspire viagra kopen viagra kopen

    posted on December 26, 2012 at 12:35 pm
  54. Pxqzmdwe says:

    cozad cialis 5 mg cialis 5 mg

    posted on December 26, 2012 at 5:22 pm
  55. cheap nike nfl jerseys says:

    Wonderful web site. A lot of helpful info here. I am sending it to a few friends ans additionally sharing in delicious. And certainly, thank you on your sweat!
    cheap nike nfl jerseys

    posted on December 27, 2012 at 10:51 pm
  56. cheap nfl jerseys china says:

    One thing I’d like to say is the fact that before obtaining more computer memory, consider the machine in which it could well be installed. If your machine is usually running Windows XP, for instance, the actual memory limit is 3.25GB. Applying in excess of this would just constitute any waste. Be sure that one’s motherboard can handle your upgrade volume, as well. Great blog post.
    cheap nfl jerseys china

    posted on December 27, 2012 at 11:03 pm
  57. Queenie says:
    posted on December 28, 2012 at 12:51 am
  58. nike football jerseys says:

    Hey there,  You have done a great job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m sure they will be benefited from this web site.
    nike football jerseys

    posted on December 28, 2012 at 1:46 am
  59. cheap jerseys says:

    There are some attention-grabbing points in time in this article however I dont know if I see all of them heart to heart. There may be some validity however I will take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we wish more! Added to FeedBurner as effectively
    cheap jerseys

    posted on December 28, 2012 at 2:27 am
  60. Gwocbrku says:

    emirates payday loans uk payday loans uk

    posted on December 28, 2012 at 3:32 am
  61. Xzqcdcqe says:

    streetfights same day payday loans same day payday loans

    posted on December 29, 2012 at 10:42 pm
  62. Caro says:
    posted on December 30, 2012 at 12:00 am
  63. Nzbrbzja says:

    cio payday advance payday advance

    posted on December 30, 2012 at 4:35 am
  64. Jakayla says:
    posted on December 30, 2012 at 10:04 am
  65. Aaron Hernandez 'blog says:

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really neatly written article. IӬl make sure to bookmark it and return to learn more of your helpful information. Thanks for the post. IӬl certainly comeback.
    Aaron Hernandez ‘blog

    posted on December 30, 2012 at 1:38 pm
  66. sxkqyovvt says:

    CfrYaU amwcucruetwp, gdgskdpdnull, [link=http://rnhhiryhlvzp.com/]rnhhiryhlvzp[/link], http://hmpywtxuhcjj.com/

    posted on December 31, 2012 at 7:06 am
  67. gqtmvgcib says:

    i0IZBD wmnmyygblmfy, fnvqabrwuoyn, [link=http://ogweqeatrxdl.com/]ogweqeatrxdl[/link], http://zgfuzuyjvgmy.com/

    posted on December 31, 2012 at 8:52 am
  68. vexnghyrxil says:

    2CCtki ejjzxkjovack, fgpcokveslbh, [link=http://muupulwiawfd.com/]muupulwiawfd[/link], http://iwvnxizliyxc.com/

    posted on January 1, 2013 at 1:11 pm
  69. Discount viagra online says:

    , Cialis price,  :PP, Cheap viagra online,  985811, Generic cialis,  64724, Generic viagra,  qggii, Cialis,  pgyg, Viagra for sale,  205950, Cialis vs viagra,  13859, Viagra,  637, Viagra price,  =[[[,

    posted on January 2, 2013 at 6:21 am
  70. Cialis vs viagra says:

    , Cheapest Viagra,  471092, Cheap viagra,  791, Buy viagra online,  55208, Viagra price,  04671, Cialis online,  wwen, Viagra for sale,  >:-DDD, Does generic viagra work,  jvdou, Buy viagra online,  8-(, Order generic viagra,  :-PPP,

    posted on January 2, 2013 at 6:35 am
  71. Cialis says:

    , Cheap cialis,  313460, Buy cialis,  77743, Generic cialis online,  ucuw, Buy levitra pills,  :PPP, Generic viagra,  =OO, Cialis,  vjad, Buy viagra canada,  538, Cialis,  :((, Viagra online without prescription,  yaeatg,

    posted on January 2, 2013 at 6:42 am
  72. Buy viagra canada says:

    , Buy viagra with paypal,  91532, Generic levitra online,  =-(, Cialis canada,  794160, Viagra online,  tirjr, Buy cheap cialis,  389173, Viagra,  990016, Canada viagra online without prescription,  :OO, Order viagra,  59166, Viagra,  cvqprf,

    posted on January 2, 2013 at 6:48 am
  73. Generic Viagra from india says:
    posted on January 2, 2013 at 7:19 am
  74. Viagra online says:
    posted on January 2, 2013 at 7:35 am
  75. Generic viagra online says:

    , Cheap cialis,  923960, Buy cialis,  =)), Discount generic cialis,  3822, Levitra vs viagra,  nzcqxw, Viagra,  bpdvuy, Cialis,  :], Buy viagra canada,  >:PP, Generic cialis,  824, Viagra online without prescription,  8[[[,

    posted on January 2, 2013 at 7:35 am
  76. Buying viagra from india says:

    , Buy viagra without rx,  :-]], Levitra online,  5180, Cialis price,  =[[, Viagra online,  2563, Order cialis overnight,  0789, Viagra,  :angry:, Viagra coupons,  532, Buy viagra online united states,  =OOO, Viagra,  :-DD,

    posted on January 2, 2013 at 7:35 am
  77. Viagra alternative says:

    , Cialis,  kkiies, Buy cialis,  fckh, Cialis online canada,  kuxwev, Buy levitra,  500, Cheap generic viagra,  214, Viagra,  102482, Cialis online,  vzf, Generic cialis,  86504, Viagra,  =D,

    posted on January 2, 2013 at 8:02 am
  78. Buy viagra online says:

    , Order levitra,  %-OO, Viagra dose,  200, Order viagra,  3763, Cheap viagra,  :mad:, Levitra online,  303887, Viagra online,  ekn, Viagra,  wlyt, Discount viagra online,  expng, Viagra online,  >:-DD,

    posted on January 2, 2013 at 8:03 am
  79. Viagra says:

    , Cialis,  ohxc, Cialis vs viagra,  9225, Buy cialis,  742, Viagra online,  6155, Cialis,  :angry:(, Generic viagra,  qnoe, Buy viagra online,  :angry:(, Buy viagra online,  9921, Cialis vs viagra,  =[[[,

    posted on January 2, 2013 at 8:10 am
  80. Cialis says:
    posted on January 2, 2013 at 8:13 am

Leave a Comment

  • Please enter the word you see in the image below:


  • Notify me of follow-up comments?